



Suggestion 27

Anonymous 1

Submission to 2023 Victorian Redistribution

Dear Redistribution Committee,

Thank you for the opportunity to make this submission to the 2023 Victorian Redistribution. Accompanying these written suggestions I have included maps of each proposed division, and a shapefile of the state's divisions.

I hope these suggestions are useful to the redistribution process, and I look forward to seeing your proposals when they are available.

Key themes

- Unification of Higgins and Hotham into a new division, Mora
- Consolidation of Melbourne into a compact inner-urban division bridging the Yarra River, with the new name Birrarung
- Realignment of Gorton and Hawke into the Melton/Western Hwy and Sunbury/Calder Fwy corridors
- Inclusion of Maryborough in the division of Ballarat

Which division to abolish?

Rather than abolishing a single division and making necessary adjustments, my proposal seeks to consolidate the low-growth divisions of Higgins and Hotham into the new division of Mora. This allows for the confusing boundaries of southeastern Melbourne to be clarified. Mora will be focussed on the centres of Caulfield, Chadstone and Oakleigh. These suburbs share community and transport links and are of a consistent suburban character. The division has clear boundaries of the Monash Fwy, Clayton Rd, Centre Rd and Hawthorn Rd.

The division is named for artist Mirka Mora and her art dealer husband Georges Mora, both instrumental in the development of Australian contemporary art and the place of Melbourne as Australia's cultural capital. After surviving the Holocaust, the couple migrated to Australia in 1951 and established several European-style cafés and restaurants (including the first with outdoor seating). The couple also mentored artists, established the Tolarno Galleries and were instrumental in the creation of the Contemporary Art Society. Mirka Mora is known for her vivid and celebratory style and use of motifs from her Eastern European heritage, working for over sixty years in a range of media including painting, embroidery and doll making. Mirka Mora was also the first artist to paint an Art Tram, a tradition that continues to this day.

Which division to cross the Yarra?

Due to enrolment requirements, this redistribution requires a division to span the Yarra River. I propose that Melbourne is the division where this is done.

Over the past decades, a common character has developed on both sides of the river. A chain of apartment towers now stretches from Parkville to Southbank and St Kilda Road, and residents commute using the same tram lines whether they live in Richmond or Port Melbourne. The river no longer divides communities in inner Melbourne, it unites them. Importantly, this decision was made even clearer when considering alternatives like Jagajaga/Menzies or McEwen/Casey, where the river marks a stark divide between distinct communities.

In recognition of its shift southwards, the Melbourne division is renamed 'Birrarung' to celebrate the Yarra River at its centre. Birrarung is the Woi-wurrung word for the river, and would already be well known from Birrarung Marr, a well-known public park, event venue and open space. The name 'Melbourne' is geographic in nature, is already used for a state electorate, and can also refer to the entire city, so this name change will increase specificity and reduce confusion. Using an Aboriginal name for this division is also appropriate to recognise the area's history of Aboriginal self-determination and community, including the rich history of activism in Fitzroy and the creation of institutions like the Victorian Aboriginal Health Service and the Koorie Heritage Trust.

Birrarung will be an inner-city division with a civic and cultural heart. This proposal draws the northern boundary of Birrarung at Alexandra Pde and Cemetery Rd, a clean urban border. Birrarung extends south to gain Port Melbourne, most of Southbank, South Wharf and part of South Melbourne (north of the busy West Gate Fwy) from Macnamara, all areas with a distinctive urban character common with areas such as the CBD, Carlton and North Melbourne. Birrarung will unite the arts and cultural precinct at Southbank with counterpart institutions north of the river, such as the University of Melbourne Parkville and Southbank (VCA) campuses, or the NGV International and Ian Potter Centre. Importantly when looking at long-term enrolment trends and developing communities of interest, this division would include all of the inner-city urban renewal areas: Docklands, Arden, Macaulay, Fishermans Bend and the prospective precincts at Dynon and E-Gate.

Other key suggestions

- The city of Ararat is moved from Wannon into Mallee to join other regional towns along the Western Hwy including Stawell and Horsham
- Maryborough and Avoca are moved from Mallee into Ballarat as these towns have strong historical, economic, sporting and transport links to Ballarat, including gold rush history, common tourism marketing and a shared V/Line rail service
- Corangamite takes the coastal Great Ocean Road corridor from Wannon, in exchange for predominantly rural areas including Inverleigh and Moriac. This unites the Great Ocean Road corridor between Torquay and Lorne in a single division
- Hawke and Gorton are realigned so Hawke contains the Calder Fwy corridor to Sunbury, and Gorton contains the Western Hwy corridor to Ballan
- The surplus of electors north of Alexandra Pde (in the former division of Melbourne) is split between Wills and Cooper. Wills gains part of Parkville (primarily the Commonwealth Games

village), Princes Hill, Carlton North and Fitzroy North west of St Georges Rd. These areas share transport links with areas to the north, including several tram lines, the Upfield train line and Sydney Rd towards Coburg and Fawkner

- Kooyong is coterminous with the City of Boroondara, using the Monash Fwy/Gardiners Creek as a robust barrier in the south, while Chisholm retains the centres of Box Hill and Glen Waverley
- Aston extends along the Belgrave line corridor to Upwey and Tecoma
- Isaacs consolidates as a middle-suburban division, expanding to cover Clayton South and Springvale
- Bruce, Holt and La Trobe become divisions centred on Dandenong, Narre Warren and Berwick-Pakenham, respectively. La Trobe contracts to the suburban core of Cardinia Shire, losing its rural areas to Casey and Monash
- No changes are proposed for Nicholls, Indi or Gippsland

Proposed Divisions

Division	Actual Enrolment	Variation	Projected Enrolment	Variation
Aston	119040	1.84%	129084	1.45%
Ballarat	116849	-0.04%	126547	-0.54%
Bendigo	119675	2.38%	129508	1.78%
Birrarung	118891	1.71%	131007	2.96%
Bruce	117242	0.30%	127905	0.52%
Calwell	113887	-2.57%	123058	-3.29%
Casey	118588	1.45%	127701	0.36%
Chisholm	119708	2.41%	131273	3.17%
Cooper	116922	0.02%	128019	0.61%
Corangamite	112653	-3.63%	123713	-2.77%
Corio	119770	2.46%	129373	1.68%
Deakin	118481	1.36%	129241	1.57%
Dunkley	119249	2.01%	129741	1.97%
Flinders	115493	-1.20%	125782	-1.14%
Fraser	113788	-2.66%	124669	-2.02%
Gellibrand	112800	-3.50%	123955	-2.58%
Gippsland	116669	-0.19%	126779	-0.36%
Goldstein	118448	1.33%	129428	1.72%
Gorton	115543	-1.16%	125135	-1.65%
Hawke	118067	1.00%	127272	0.03%
Holt	118861	1.68%	129108	1.47%
Indi	118870	1.69%	128437	0.94%
Isaacs	117819	0.79%	128748	1.19%
Jagajaga	116888	-0.01%	126278	-0.75%
Kooyong	117016	0.10%	128011	0.61%
La Trobe	119477	2.21%	129595	1.85%
Lalor	112177	-4.04%	123104	-3.25%
Macnamara	118815	1.64%	130152	2.29%
Mallee	115547	-1.15%	124684	-2.01%
Maribyrnong	117696	0.69%	128298	0.83%
McEwen	114545	-2.01%	123823	-2.68%
Menzies	118002	0.95%	128959	1.35%
Monash	119454	2.19%	130426	2.51%
Mora	116234	-0.56%	127810	0.45%
Nicholls	114691	-1.88%	124233	-2.36%
Scullin	114332	-2.19%	124870	-1.86%
Wannon	116620	-0.23%	125396	-1.45%
Wills	113173	-3.18%	123926	-2.60%











































































